Free-improv with trumpet, bass, guitar, drums. Cinematic, hypnotic and unpredictable landscapes of sound.

Formed in 2005, Forenzics have a very simple philosophy: play what you feel without limits and boundaries, only that it must be created there and then.  There are no restrictions on genre, texture, format or structure.

It is completely free music defined by the mood, ability and preferences of the musicians taking part.

Forenzics lineup is fairly fluid but usually includes Matthew Syres on guitar and effects, Dirk Kruithof on guitar, bass or vox, Joe Cummins on trumpet and kaoss, and Evan McGregor on drums.  They have also played with some of Sydney’s best drummers including John Whilton, Aemon Webb, Finn Ryan, Alex Slater, Louis Burdett, and founding member Ben Eadie, various electronics wizards.

Forenzics have released three albums, 2009’s H3O, 2010’s Static and Silence and 2011’s Build Ruins (released on New Weird Australia’s New Editions label). They are currently working on their fourth as yet untitled release, recorded with the current live lineup.  They also appear on several compilations including Droning Earth Vol.26 and Art Groupie 2008.

Live they are a force to be reckoned with, taking the audiences on a journey, sometimes wild and tumultuous, sometimes soothing, fragile and hypnotically beautiful.